Shannon L. Goessling, Esq., Executive Director & Chief Legal Counsel

Shannon L. Goessling is Executive Director for Southeastern Legal Foundation, an Atlanta, Georgia-based public interest law firm and policy center.  Goessling was the 2002 GOP nominee and candidate for Georgia Attorney General.  A former public servant, Goessling worked as a Senior Assistant District Attorney in metro Atlanta, prosecuting crimes against women and children.  A lifelong conservative, Goessling has served on various task forces and professional associations in leadership positions working toward limited government, law-and-order, and enhancement of constitutional liberties.

Goessling's background as a small business owner provides 'real-world' experience with government regulation and taxation, and she brings practical, vigorous leadership to Southeastern Legal Foundation, one of the nation's leading public interest law firms founded in 1976.  Goessling was appointed to the U.S. Civil Rights Commission, Georgia Advisory Committee in 2007.  She appears regularly on national, state and regional media and panels.  She is a member of the Federalist Society.  She is a cum laude graduate of Rollins College in Florida and received a J.D. from Emory University School of Law.


H. Eric Dial, Development Director

H. Eric Dial is Director of Development for Southeastern Legal Foundation, an Atlanta-based public interest law firm founded in 1976. Eric established the Development office for the Foundation in 1997, designing and implementing strategic fundraising programs which have enabled the Foundation to become a national leader in public interest law and policy development.

Eric joined the Southeastern Legal Foundation from the office of U.S. Rep. Mac Collins (R-GA), where he served in both the Washington and Georgia offices. A graduate of several leadership programs, Eric holds several leadership positions in his community. He received a B.A. in Political Science from Georgia State University. 


Todd G. Young, Chief Operating Officer

Todd Young is Chief Operating Officer for Southeastern Legal Foundation, an Atlanta-based constitutional public interest law firm and national policy center.  He has served with the Foundation since 1994, directing policy, outreach and media relations programs.  In 2003, he was named one of Georgia's "16 to Watch:  On the Rise Under 40" in the Daily Report, the state's daily legal newspaper.

Todd helped author the landmark unemployment insurance study stimulating more than $1.75 billion in unemployment insurance tax cuts in five SE states, including Georgia, South Carolina, Virginia, Florida, and North Carolina. Listed since 1998 in The Heritage Foundation's Guide to Public Policy Experts, his work is published regularly in national newspapers and magazines, and he appears regularly on television news programs and syndicated talk radio programs. He received a B.A. in English from Davidson College, Davidson, NC, and a J.D. from Georgia State University College of Law. 


Kimberly S. Hermann, Deputy Counsel

Kimberly S. Hermann is Deputy Counsel for Southeastern Legal Foundation, an Atlanta-based constitutional public interest law firm and policy center.  Kimberly is committed to promoting individual liberty, the rule of law, and accountability in government.  Her years of working in private practice and for an international accounting firm provide practical experience for both civil litigation and financial issues.

While in law school, Kimberly served as a clerk intern for SLF.  She is a member of the Georgia State University College of Law Alumni Council.  Kimberly received a B.S. in Finance and a Masters in Accountancy from Wake Forest University, and is a licensed CPA.  She graduated magna cum laude from Georgia State University College of Law.  She is a member of the Federalist Society.   


Board of Trustees


Mr. Joseph Arnall, Chairman

Jacksonville, FL


Mrs. Kathy Barco Jossim

Jacksonville, FL


Mr. Harold Cunliffe

Atlanta, GA


Ms. Shannon L. Goessling, Executive Director

Marietta, GA


Mr. Denny Jones, Secretary

Atlanta, GA/Destin, FL


Mr. Tim Jones

Atlanta, GA


Hon. Edwin Meese III

Washington, DC


Mr. Michael G. Riley

Narragansett, RI


Mr. Emerson Russell

Chattanooga, TN


Mr. John Whelchel

Atlanta, GA